Conversations in Lebanon

Conversations

You meet someone for the first time and want to make a good impression. What are good subjects of conversation to bring up?

To make a good impression, you will need to follow these rules: smile, say “Marhaba” (hello) and give a firm handshake. It may sometimes be appropriate to kiss the other person’s cheek (three times), a French tradition that was passed on during the colonial period of 1919-1944. These rules do not apply to a person of the opposite sex dressed according to the Islamic dress code (a headscarf for women, a beard for men). In that case, simply greet the person with a nod of your head and saying “Salaam” (peace).

The most common way to break the ice is to ask questions about the other person’s home town (it is easy to identify people’s faith by their place of origin, so people may be cautious with their words when speaking with someone of a different faith). Faiths are different denominations of religions. There are 17 faiths in Lebanon that share power through a negotiated quota system under which the President of the Republic must be a Maronite Christian, the Prime Minister a Sunni Muslim, the Chief Whip of Parliament a Shia Muslim, and so on.

Humour is always welcome, even the first time you meet. The Lebanese are by no means formal.

They like to make a good impression through generosity (for example, paying the bill at a restaurant). It is common for them to want to treat you the first time you meet. The best way to respond is to thank the other person and politely decline (justifying yourself by explaining that you don’t want to trouble them). In general, that person will probably insist, in which case it would be awkward to continue to refuse.

When visiting the Lebanese in their homes for the first time, it is customary to bring flowers. If you are invited over for a meal, bring them baklava (Lebanese pastries) as is traditional.

Avoid talking about religion the first time you meet someone. This is a very delicate subject in Lebanon. Many people believe that religious differences were the cause of the civil war from 1975 to 1990. If the subject comes up, people tend to handle it with a great deal of tact. You will only discover their real opinions once you have become good friends.

Politics occupy the thoughts of every Lebanese person. Once you have exhausted all other subjects of conversation, you can turn to politics. You will be impressed by people’s general knowledge of international affairs. You will rarely see Lebanese people who are not up to date on world, regional and local politics. Be careful though: you might find yourself engaged in very lengthy discussions indeed!

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

Conversations au Liban

Conversations

Je rencontre quelqu’un pour la première fois et je veux faire bonne impression. Quels seraient de bons sujets de discussion à aborder?

 Pour faire une bonne impression, vous devez observer les règles suivantes : souriez, dites « MARHABA » (bonjour), et donnez une poignée de main ferme. Parfois il est approprié de donner la bise (3 fois), qui est une tradition française transmise durant la période de la colonisation de 1919-1944. Ces règles ne s’appliquent pas à une personne de sexe opposé qui suit le code vestimentaire islamique (c’est-à-dire le voile pour la femme, la barbe chez les hommes). Dans ce cas, il suffit de saluer la personne en inclinant la tête en lui disant « SALAM » (paix).

La manière la plus commune de briser la glace est de poser des questions sur la ville ou le village d’origine de votre interlocuteur (il est facile de déterminer la confession des gens selon leur lieu d’origine, ce qui les amène à se montrer prudents dans leurs propos si leur interlocuteur est de confession différente). Les confessions sont des sectes parmi les religions. Il y a 17 confessions au Liban, qui se partagent le pouvoir selon un contingentement négocié en vertu duquel le président de la République doit être un Chrétien maronite, le Premier ministre, un Musulman sunnite, le chef du Parlement, un Musulman chiite, etc.

L’humour est toujours le bienvenu, même au premier contact. Les Libanais ne sont pas du tout formels.

Les Libanais aiment donner une bonne impression en se montrant généreux (par exemple en payant l’addition dans un restaurant). Il est courant d’être invité au premier contact. Le meilleur moyen de réagir devant une telle invitation est de remercier votre interlocuteur et de la décliner poliment (justifiez votre réponse en expliquant que vous ne voulez pas le déranger). En général, votre interlocuteur insistera, auquel cas il serait inconvenant de refuser l’invitation.

Lorsque vous rendez visite à des Libanais à leur domicile pour la première fois, il est d’usage d’apporter des fleurs. Si vous êtes invité à un repas chez eux, offrez-leur des « Baklava » (gâteaux libanais), comme le veut la coutume.

Évitez de discuter de religion au premier contact. C’est un sujet très délicat au Liban. Nombre de personnes pensent que les différences religieuses ont été la cause de la guerre civile (1975 - 1990). Si le sujet est soulevé, les gens l’aborderont avec beaucoup de tact. Vous ne connaîtrez leur opinion réelle que lorsque vous serez devenus de bons amis.

La politique occupe l’esprit de tous les Libanais. Lorsque vous avez épuisé tous les sujets de conversation, vous pouvez parler de politique. Vous serez impressionné par la connaissance qu’ont les gens en général des affaires internationales. Vous verrez rarement des Libanais qui ne sont pas renseignés sur la politique mondiale, régionale et locale. Soyez prudent, parce que cela pourrait vous engager dans de très longues conversations!

Liban Liban


Haut de page