Conversations in Lebanon

Conversations

You meet someone for the first time and want to make a good impression. What are good subjects of conversation to bring up?

To make a good impression, you will need to follow these rules: smile, say “Marhaba” (hello) and give a firm handshake. It may sometimes be appropriate to kiss the other person’s cheek (three times), a French tradition that was passed on during the colonial period of 1919-1944. These rules do not apply to a person of the opposite sex dressed according to the Islamic dress code (a headscarf for women, a beard for men). In that case, simply greet the person with a nod of your head and saying “Salaam” (peace).

The most common way to break the ice is to ask questions about the other person’s home town (it is easy to identify people’s faith by their place of origin, so people may be cautious with their words when speaking with someone of a different faith). Faiths are different denominations of religions. There are 17 faiths in Lebanon that share power through a negotiated quota system under which the President of the Republic must be a Maronite Christian, the Prime Minister a Sunni Muslim, the Chief Whip of Parliament a Shia Muslim, and so on.

Humour is always welcome, even the first time you meet. The Lebanese are by no means formal.

They like to make a good impression through generosity (for example, paying the bill at a restaurant). It is common for them to want to treat you the first time you meet. The best way to respond is to thank the other person and politely decline (justifying yourself by explaining that you don’t want to trouble them). In general, that person will probably insist, in which case it would be awkward to continue to refuse.

When visiting the Lebanese in their homes for the first time, it is customary to bring flowers. If you are invited over for a meal, bring them baklava (Lebanese pastries) as is traditional.

Avoid talking about religion the first time you meet someone. This is a very delicate subject in Lebanon. Many people believe that religious differences were the cause of the civil war from 1975 to 1990. If the subject comes up, people tend to handle it with a great deal of tact. You will only discover their real opinions once you have become good friends.

Politics occupy the thoughts of every Lebanese person. Once you have exhausted all other subjects of conversation, you can turn to politics. You will be impressed by people’s general knowledge of international affairs. You will rarely see Lebanese people who are not up to date on world, regional and local politics. Be careful though: you might find yourself engaged in very lengthy discussions indeed!

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

المحادثة

المحادثة

أقابل شخصا للمرة الأولى وأريد أن أترك انطباعا جيدا. ما هي المواضيع الجيدة التي يجدر بي التطرق إليها؟

 لترك انطباع جيد، يجب احترام القواعد التالية: ابتسم، قل "مرحبا" وصافح بقوة. أحيانا يجب التقبيل (3 مرات)، وهي عادة فرنسية تعود إلى عهد الاستعمار 1919-1944. لا تطبق هذه القواعد على الأشخاص من الجنس الآخر تحمل لباسا إسلاميا (أي الحجاب بالنسبة للمرأة أو اللحية بالنسبة للرجل). في هذه الحالة، يكفي تحية الشخص عبر الانحناء وقوم "السلام".

الطريقة الأكثر شيوعا لبدء محادثة هي السؤال عن المدينة أو القرية الأصلية لمخاطبك (من السهل استنتاج الملة الدينية للناس حسب أصلهم، مما يجعلهم حذرين إن كان الشخص الآخر من ملة مختلفة). الملل هي فرق داخل الديانات. توجد 17 ملة في لبنان، تتقاسم السلطة وفق نظام حصص متفاوض بشأنه ينص على أن رئيس الجمهورية لزوما مسيحي موارن، الوزير الأول مسلم سني، رئيس البرلمان مسلم شيعي، إلخ.

الدعابة محبذة، حتى عند مقابلة شخص للمرة الأولى. فإن اللبنانيين ليسوا صارمين.

ويحب اللبنانيون ترك انطباع جيد فتجدهم كراما (مثلا عبر تسديد الفاتورة في المطعم). من الشائع أن تتم دعوتك منذ المقابلة الأولى. وأفضل طريقة لرد الفعل أمام دعوة كهذه هي شكر مخاطبك ورفضها بكل لطف (برر إجابتك بقول أنك لا تريد إزعاجه). عادة، سيقوم مخاطبك بالتأكيد، وفي هذه الحالة من غير اللائق رفض الدعوة.

عندما تقوم بزيارة اللبنانيين في بيوتهم للمرة الأولى، يجب عادة حمل الورود. إن تمت دعوتك للأكل عندهم، خذ معك حلوى "البقلاوة" كما تجري العادة.

تجنب الحديث في الدين عند المقابلة الأولى. إذ أنه موضوع حساس جدا في لبنان. العديد من الناس يعتبرون أن الاختلافات الدينية هي سبب الحرب الأهلية التي عرفتها البلاد (1975 – 1990). إن تم التطرق إلى هذا الموضوع، ستلاحظ أن الجميع يتحدّث بحذر. ولن تعرف رأيهم الحقيقي إلا متى صرتم أصدقاء.

إن السياسة تشغل بال كل اللبنانيين. عندما تنتهي كل مواضيع الحديث، يمكنك الحديث في السياسة. وسيدهشك الإلمام الجيد للناس بالشؤون الدولية. من النادر معرفة لبنانيين ليسوا على دراية بالسياسة العالمية والجهوية والمحلية. كن حذرا، لأن ذلك يمكن أن يبدأ حوارات لا نهاية لها!

Lebanon Lebanon


Back to Top