Dress code, punctuality and formality in Lebanon

Dress code, punctuality and formality

What do you need to know about your workplace (dress code, deadlines, formality, etc.)?

Dress codes differ from one workplace to the next although, as a general rule, the Lebanese are very mindful of appearances. Most men and women wear fashionable, chiefly European style clothes. In government settings, men wear a suit and tie. Women wear dresses and make-up. Titles are primarily used to address your elders, official representatives and managers. For example, you would call your male manager Istez (sir). The current trend is moving toward doing away with these titles (former President of the Republic Hrawi eliminated the titles of minister and other top government positions). You will witness this trend at multinationals recruiting young, educated people that have done their studies in Western countries or who have otherwise been exposed to Western culture.

Few people are on time to meetings and appointments (to be fair, there are simply too many variables in everyday life in Lebanon, which makes tight schedules impossible to meet). It is common to show up 20 minutes late to a meeting or appointment.

Absenteeism is not tolerated at private organizations although it is common at public institutions. Many improvements have been made to the government sector but the system still remains slow and inefficient.

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

Code vestimentaire, ponctualité et formalités au Liban

Code vestimentaire, ponctualité et formalité

Que dois-je savoir à propos du milieu de travail (la tenue vestimentaire, les délais, la formalité, etc.)?

Le code vestimentaire diffère d’un milieu de travail à l’autre, mais en règle générale, les Libanais sont très portés sur l’apparence. La plupart des gens, hommes et femmes, portent des vêtements à la mode et au goût principalement européen. Dans un milieu administratif, les hommes portent le complet et la cravate. Les femmes portent des robes et sont maquillées. Les titres sont principalement utilisés pour s’adresser aux aînés, aux représentants officiels et aux gestionnaires. Par exemple, vous pourrez appeler votre gestionnaire « Istez » (monsieur). La tendance actuelle est de supprimer ces titres (l’ancien président de la République, Hrawi, a éliminé le titre de ministre et d’autres titres de postes supérieurs du gouvernement). Vous observerez cette tendance dans les entreprises multinationales qui recrutent des personnes jeunes, éduquées et qui ont étudié dans des pays occidentaux ou qui ont été autrement exposées à la culture occidentale.

Peu de gens sont ponctuels aux réunions et aux rendez-vous (pour être juste, il existe un trop grand nombre de variables dans la vie quotidienne au Liban qui rendent les horaires serrés impossibles à suivre). Il est fréquent d’arriver 20 minutes en retard à un rendez-vous ou à une réunion.

L’absentéisme n’est pas toléré dans les organismes privés, alors qu’il est fréquent dans les institutions publiques. Il y a eu de nombreuses améliorations dans le secteur gouvernemental, mais le système demeure lent et inefficace.

Liban Liban


Haut de page