Environnement of Lebanon

Environnement

Geography

Located on the eastern shores of the Mediterranean, Lebanon is surrounded by Syria to the north and the east and Israel to the south. The country, one of the smallest in the world, extends over 180 km from north to south and 50 km from east to west. Despite its modest size, it has a number of extremely different geographic zones. The narrow, divided coastal region is home to the largest cities. In the interior, the Mount Lebanon range includes a series of high plateaux and peaks – culminating in the 3,000+ m tall Qurnat al-Sawda. Further east, the range drops straight down to the Beqaa Valley which runs along 150 km of coastline at an altitude of 1,000 m. The Beqaa is a major wine-making region and, up until very recently, was also known for its cultivation of cannabis. The very arid Anti-Lebanon Mountains rise up to the east of the Beqaa Valley, forming a natural border with Syria.

Plantlife and wildlife

The most famous tree in Lebanon and the symbol of the country – the cedar – can now only be found in a handful of mountain regions, namely in Bsharri and near Barouk in the Chouf Mountains. These are specimens are all that remain of the great Lebanon cedar forests that, back in the Biblical era, covered the majority of the country. That being said, Lebanon is still the country with the most dense forests in the Middle East: many varieties of pines grow on the mountainside, and most of the coastal strip is home to fruit tree plantations.

In the mountainous regions of Lebanon nest birds of prey, while in the nature reserve close to Ehden, golden and imperial eagles, buzzards, red kites, Bonelli’s eagles, Marmora’s warblers and scops owls can be observed. You can see resident and migratory sea birds at the Palm Islands Nature Preserve off the coast of Tripoli. Mediterranean green turtles and monk seals live in the waters surrounding the preserve. And when it comes to mammals, you’d be hard pressed to find any more amusing than the surprising hedgehog.

Lebanon’s ecology suffered seriously under the civil war and the development of industrialization. During the war, various pollutants and waste were discharged into the rivers and the sea, and illegal constructions popped up all over. The lack of government supervision established conditions conducive to the illegal feeling of trees in many mountain regions. A number of heritage preservation organizations are now attempting to remediate this damage and protect the natural environment through legislative bills and the creation of nature reserves.

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

Environnement au Liban

Environnement

Géographie

Situé sur la rive orientale de la Méditerranée, le Liban est encadré par la Syrie au nord et à l'est, et par Israël au sud. Ce pays, un des plus petits du monde, s'étend sur environ 180 km du nord au sud et sur 50 km de l'ouest à l'est. Malgré sa taille modeste, il englobe plusieurs zones géographiques extrêmement différentes. La région côtière, très étroite et découpée, rassemble les villes principales. À l'intérieur, la chaîne du mont Liban comprend une série de hauts plateaux et sommets – où culmine le Qurnat al-Sawda à plus de 3 000 m. Plus à l'est, la chaîne redescend à pic sur la plaine de la Beqaa, qui longe la côte en parallèle sur 150 km à une altitude de 1 000 m. La Beqaa est une importante région de production vinicole et, jusqu'à très récemment, de culture de cannabis. Le massif très aride de l'Anti-Liban s'élève à l'est de la plaine de la Beqaa, formant une frontière naturelle avec la Syrie.

Faune et flore

L'arbre le plus célèbre du Liban et son emblème – le cèdre – ne se trouve plus aujourd'hui que dans quelques régions montagneuses, notamment à Bcharré et près de Barouk dans les montagnes du Chouf. Ces rares spécimens sont tout ce qu'il reste des grandes forêts de cèdres libanaises qui, à l'époque biblique, couvraient la majeure partie du pays. Cela dit, le Liban reste le pays qui compte le plus de forêts denses au Moyen-Orient : de nombreuses variétés de pins croissent sur les montagnes, et la majeure partie de la bande côtière abrite des cultures d'arbres fruitiers.

Dans les régions montagneuses du Liban nichent des oiseaux de proie, tandis que dans la réserve naturelle proche d'Ehden nichent des aigles royaux et impériaux, des buses, des milans rouges, des aigles de Bonelli, des fauvettes sardes et des hiboux de Scop. On peut voir des oiseaux marins, résidents ou migrateurs, dans le parc des Palm Islands au large de Tripoli. Des tortues vertes et des phoques-moines méditerranéens vivent dans les eaux qui entourent le parc. Côté mammifères, difficile de trouver plus amusant que le surprenant hérisson.

Au Liban, l'écologie a gravement souffert de la guerre civile et du développement de l'industrialisation. Pendant la guerre, divers polluants et déchets ont été déversés dans la mer et les rivières, et les constructions sauvages ont fleuri un peu partout. Le manque de surveillance de la part du gouvernement a favorisé l'abattage illégal du bois dans de nombreuses régions montagneuses. Plusieurs organismes de conservation du patrimoine tentent actuellement de remédier aux dommages subis et de protéger l'environnement naturel en faisant voter des lois et en créant des réserves.

Liban Liban


Haut de page