Religion, class, ethnicity and gender in Lebanon

Religion, class, ethnicity and gender

Gender equality : This is a subject of great debate in Lebanon. Most Lebanese have been exposed to European culture and would like to change the system in place, even if a certain amount of progress has already been made. For example, women can now enter any profession they like (including the army). Most of them finish their studies which gives them a sense of accomplishment. In recent years, it has become necessary to have two sources of income per household as a result of the country’s economic problems. Women’s contribution to economic life is also supported by religious leaders who only ask for balance between work and family, so it is common to find women working full time jobs even though they are married with children. In some respects however, women are at a legal disadvantage, namely when it comes to the transfer of citizenship to their children if the father is not Lebanese.

Note that it is unacceptable in Lebanon to discuss homosexuality or flaunt it. Both religion and culture have traced very clear lines that should not be crossed.

Religion :This is the most controversial subject in Lebanon. Officially, there are 17 registered faiths in the country and these are what attract the most attention in the political and social sphere. Nonetheless, other ideologies and faiths do exist (primarily due to frequent travel and massive waves of immigration since the early 1900s).

A large number of people consider religion to have been responsible for the civil war (1975-1990). Those who led the war played on people’s emotions and frightened them with the spectre of the dangers posed by other religions. The different political parties tightened their ranks around religion (not nationalism). That being said, halfway through the war, followers of the same religion began to fight one another and even atheists joined militia with religious affiliations! All this suggests that the war was caused more be a tribal sense of belonging to a religion than by the actual ideologies promoted by the different religions.

Hiring processes often suffer from religious favouritism. Employers prefer to recruit people of the same faith (and same religion) as them.

Class : The middle class was the largest in Lebanon before civil war broke out. Today, it is growing poorer, at a time when the upper class is growing richer. A few vestiges of the socialist movements that marked the 1960s and 1970s still linger. One religious group adopted the fight for socioeconomic equality as its political platform. Nonetheless, Lebanon is a capitalist country with no social security system. And the government has not taken any measures to reduce the gap between the classes.

Ethnic origin: Lebanese people all have the same ethnic origins, but with one exception: Armenian immigrants that settled in Lebanon during the First World War. They have all since been naturalized but prefer to live in their own neighbourhoods. They are known for their skills and their hard work.

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

La religion, la classe, l'ethnicité et le sexe

La religion, la classe, l'ethnicité et le sexe

Égalité des sexes : L’égalité des sexes est un sujet très débattu au Liban. Étant exposés à la culture européenne, la plupart des Libanais aimeraient changer le système en place, même si un certain progrès a été réalisé. Par exemple, les femmes ne sont pas exclues de quelque emploi que ce soit (même de l’armée). La plupart d’entre elles finissent leurs études, ce qui leur donne un sens d’accomplissement. Au cours des dernières années, il est devenu nécessaire d’avoir deux revenus par ménage en raison des difficultés économiques que le pays traverse. La contribution des femmes à la vie économique est aussi appuyée par les leaders religieux, qui demandent uniquement un équilibre entre le travail et la famille; aussi est-il courant de trouver des femmes dans des emplois à plein temps, même lorsqu’elles sont mariées et qu’elles ont des enfants. Cependant, à certains égards, les femmes sont défavorisées au plan juridique, notamment en matière de transmission des droits de citoyenneté à leurs enfants, si le père n’est pas Libanais.

Notez qu’il est inacceptable au Liban de discuter de l’homosexualité ou de l’afficher. La religion et la culture ont tracé les limites à ne pas franchir.

Religion : La religion est le sujet le plus controversé au Liban. Officiellement, 17 confessions sont enregistrées au Liban et ce sont elles qui attirent le plus d’attention dans la vie politique et sociale. Néanmoins, d’autres idéologies et professions de foi existent aussi (en raison principalement de voyages fréquents et de vagues d’immigration massives depuis le début des années 1900).

Un grand nombre de personnes jugent que la religion est responsable de la guerre civile (1975 - 1990). Ceux qui ont dirigé la guerre ont joué sur les émotions du peuple et l’ont effrayé en soulevant le spectre des dangers posés par les autres religions. C’est autour de la religion (et non pas du nationalisme) que les différents partis politiques ont resserré leurs rangs. Néanmoins, à mi-chemin au cours de la guerre, les adeptes d’une même religion ont commencé à se battre entre eux et même des athées se sont joints à des milices aux affiliations religieuses! Tout cela laisse supposer que la guerre a été causée davantage par un sentiment tribal d’appartenance à une religion que par l’idéologie véhiculée par les religions.

Le processus de sélection d’emploi souffre de favoritisme sur des bases religieuses. Les employeurs recrutent de préférence des gens de même confession (et de même religion).

Classe : La classe moyenne a été prédominante au Liban jusqu’à ce que la guerre civile éclate. Aujourd’hui, elle se développe en une classe en cours d’appauvrissement, parallèlement à une classe supérieure qui s’enrichit. Il reste encore quelques vestiges des mouvements socialistes qui ont marqué les années 1960 et 1970. Un groupe religieux important a adopté la lutte pour l’égalité socio-économique comme plate-forme politique. Néanmoins, le Liban est un pays capitaliste sans système de sécurité sociale. Aucune mesure n’a été prise par le gouvernement pour réduire l’écart entre les classes.

Origine ethnique : Les Libanais sont tous de la même origine ethnique. Une exception toutefois : des immigrants arméniens se sont installés au Liban au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Tous sont naturalisés, mais ils préfèrent vivre dans leur propre quartier. Ils sont reconnus pour leur compétence et leur travail ardu.

Liban Liban


Haut de page