The Moroccan cultural context

Reports to people outside the company: how to say hello (shake hands, kiss, hug ?)

Morocco is a fascinating country because of its cultural diversity. Located at the crossroads of several civilizations, its populations have been able to welcome and integrate the foreigners who have come to stay in this country, both African, oriental and deeply imbued with Mediterranean cultures and civilizations. This cultural diversity affects the various ways of behaving in society. It is therefore a matter of common sense to be vigilant to react by trying to adapt to the behavior of the person encountered. Some behaviors may be different or similar to those that might be encountered in Mediterranean cities such as Cadiz, Marseille, Naples, Cairo, Tunis or Algiers. In Morocco, people are generally very welcoming and open to foreigners who rarely encounter difficulties of adaptation.

Attire: what is frowned upon, recommended or not?

The cultural diversity of Morocco is reflected in a wide variety of clothing styles.A free dress but avoids the extreme provocateurs: full veil or small clothes evocative of a body naked.

Religion: closures during prayers or Ramadan, special schedules, rules of the business to be respected, where are the prayer rooms?

Many Moroccans are practicing believers.This is reflected in the number of mosques encountered in town or country.It is quite common for companies to reserve a space for prayer to meet the needs of the staff, but no one is forced to pray. There is an undoubted tolerance for religious practices.

In general, work schedules are adapted on Friday to allow flexibility between 11:30 am and 2:30 pm.Saturday and Sunday are officially days corresponding to the "weekend" in the same way as the European countries.

The continuous schedule is in effect in the public administrations between 8:30 am and 4:00 pm. This schedule is not mandatory in private companies, which, however, adopts the reduced continuous schedule during the month of Ramadan (usually: between 9 am and 3 pm)

Are there any prohibited products?

All drugs are prohibited. It is also forbidden to consume alcohol in public or to be in the street in an intoxicated state especially when this state constitutes a public embarrassment. On the other hand, the sale of alcoholic beverages (beers, wines, spirits etc.) is done regularly in several grocery stores or supermarkets and supermarkets.

Cookery, meals: eat with your hands, lay the bread upside down, right or left hand? Kosher / hallal?

Moroccan cuisine is renowned for its richness and diversity. This diversity is reflected in the many flavors that traditional dishes such as tagine and couscous can offer, which are generally highly appreciated by foreigners.

In the restaurants of the big cities, Moroccan cuisine can be eaten and tasted in the European way using fork, knife, spoon and individual plate. On the other hand, the presentation and the way of eating certain meals may surprise the villagers in the country. It is a very old practice to come together as a family to eat couscous or tagine with fingers and in the same container (a large clay plate for couscous).

Delicate subjects or taboos

It all depends on who you are talking to. As a visitor to a foreign country, it is important to be diplomatic enough to avoid irritating subjects by adopting a generally neutral stance on the issues.

Monuments and buildings to visit: which are advised, where are they located, reduced rates for students

Follow the link : http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-196906.html

General information on the geography of the country

http://www.maroc.ma/fr

Economy of the country:% of unemployment, crisis, inflation

http://www.maroc.ma/fr

History and recent events

http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-4636.html 

General culture quiz on Morocco

http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-1820.html

 

Morocco Morocco


Our partners

Back to Top

Le contexte culturel Marocain

Rapports aux gens à l’extérieur de l’entreprise : comment dire bonjour (serrer la main, embrasser, hug ?) Tu ou Vous ?

Le Maroc est un pays fascinant de par sa diversité culturelle. Situé au carrefour de plusieurs civilisations, ses populations ont su accueillir et intégrer les étrangers qui sont venus séjourner dans ce pays, à la fois Africain, oriental et profondément imprégné de cultures et civilisations méditerranéennes. Cette diversité culturelle se répercute sur les diverses manières de se comporter dans la société. C’est donc une question de bon sens que d’être vigilant pour réagir en essayant de s’adapter au comportement de la personne rencontrée. Certains comportements peuvent être différents ou semblables à ceux qui pourraient être rencontrés dans des villes méditerranéennes telles que Cadiz, Marseille, Naples, Le Caire, Tunis ou Alger. Au Maroc les gens sont en général très accueillants et ouverts envers les étrangers qui ne rencontrent rarement des difficultés d’adaptation.

Tenue vestimentaire : qu’est-ce qui est mal vu, recommandé ou non ?

La diversité culturelle du Maroc se reflète dans les styles vestimentaires très variés. Une tenue vestimentaire libre mais qui veille à éviter les extrêmes provocateurs : voile intégral ou petits vêtements évocateurs d’un corps dénudé.

Religion : fermetures pendant les prières ou le ramadan, horaires particuliers, règles de l’entreprise à respecter, où sont les salles de prière ?

Beaucoup de marocains sont croyants pratiquants. Ceci se reflète dans le nombre de mosquées rencontrés en ville ou à la campagne. Il est assez fréquent que les entreprises réservent un espace de prière pour répondre aux besoins des personnels, mais personne n’est obligée ou forcée à faire la prière. Il existe une tolérance indiscutable en ce qui concerne les pratiques religieuses.

En général, les horaires de travail sont adaptés le jour du Vendredi pour permettre une certaine souplesse entre 11h30 et 14h30. Le samedi et le dimanche sont officiellement des jours correspondant au « weekend » de la même manière que les pays européens.

L’horaire continu est en vigueur dans les administrations publiques entre 8h30 et 16h. Cet horaire n’est pas obligatoire dans les entreprises privées, qui, toutefois, adopte l’horaire continu réduit pendant le mois du Ramadan (en général : entre 9h et 15h)

Y a-t-il des produits interdits ?

Toutes les drogues sont interdites. Il est également interdit de consommer de l’alcool en public ou se trouver dans la rue dans un état d’ivresse surtout quand cet état constitue une gêne publique. En revanche la vente de boissons alcoolisées (bières, vins, spiritueux etc…) se fait d’une manière régulière dans plusieurs épiceries ou supermarchés et grandes surfaces.

Cuisine, repas : manger avec les mains, poser le pain à l’envers, main droite ou gauche ? casher / hallal ?

La cuisine marocaine est réputée pour sa richesse et sa diversité. Cette diversité se reflète dans les multiples saveurs que peut offrir les plats traditionnels tels que le tagine et le couscous qui sont généralement très appréciés par les étrangers.

Dans les restaurants des grandes villes, la cuisine marocaine peut se déguster et se manger à l’européenne en utilisant fourchette, couteau, cuiller et assiette individuels. En revanche, la présentation et la façon de manger certains repas peut surprendre chez les villageois à la campagne. Il est une pratique très ancienne de se réunir en famille pour manger le couscous ou le tagine aux doigts et dans le même récipient (ex. une grande assiette en argile pour le couscous).

Sujets délicats ou tabous

Tout dépend de l’interlocuteur. En tant que visiteur d’un pays étranger, il est important d’être suffisamment diplomate pour éviter les sujets qui fâchent en adoptant une position généralement neutre à l’égard des sujets abordés.

Monuments et édifices à visiter : lesquels sont conseillés, où sont-ils situés, tarifs réduits pour étudiants

Suivre le lien : http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-196906.html

Informations générales sur la géographique du pays

http://www.maroc.ma/fr

Economie du pays : % de chômage, crise, inflation

http://www.maroc.ma/fr

Histoire et évènements récents

http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-4636.html 

Quiz de culture générale sur le Maroc

http://www.quizz.biz/quizz-1820.html

 

Maroc Maroc


Haut de page