Observations to make on your own during your placement

In any group, there are obvious rules and tacit, implicit, often more restrictive rules. You should carefully observe those around you from the very start of your placement, watching the habits, codes, behaviours and relationships between people. Identifying these rules make help you to fit in with the group quickly and easily.

- Understand the hierarchy at the company and how you fit into it (who is really in charge? how are decisions made? who is and isn’t available to you? what is the best path to meet your goals?)

- What value are important and advocated by your company (team spirit, tolerance, initiative, etc., i.e. the corporate culture and the values on which you will be evaluated, judged, integrated and even possibly hired)?

- Should you share your negative remarks and assessments of the company and your co-workers? Please note that this is neither your role nor your responsibility. Give your opinion only if explicitly asked so that you don’t cause any problems or upset anyone

- How should you dress (suit and tie, casual or uniform, and does the company do casual Fridays)?

- Should you say hello and goodbye to your co-workers every day and, if so, how (a “Hello” called out to the room, a kiss on the cheek, a hug or a handshake)?

- Are there any words you cannot say? Are some words codes? Are there any “rites,” things left unsaid, like in any group?

- It would be good for you to take the concepts of efficiency / profitability on board. Your company has serious constraints in terms of finances, production and profitability. You are not accustomed to all these concepts. You need to learn them immediately.

- Learn the company’s health and safety rules. There are usually texts on this subject, often incorporated into its internal rules

- What is the position of the staff and management on religious and political aspects? What are their customs and habits? These are delicate, possibly even taboo subjects. Be sure you don’t shock anyone

- Does your team take a coffee break in the morning? Would it look bad for you not to go? How much time do you get for lunch?

Algeria Algeria
France France
Germany Germany
Lebanon Lebanon
Morocco Morocco
Spain Spain
Tunisia Tunisia


Our partners

Back to Top

Observations à faire par vous-même

Dans tout groupe, il y a les règles évidentes et les règles tacites et implicites, souvent encore plus contraignantes. Vous devez observer attentivement votre entourage dès le début du stage, les habitudes, les codes, les comportements, les relations entre les gens. Identifier ces règles tacites facilitera d’autant votre intégration rapide dans le groupe.

- Comprendre la hiérarchie dans l’entreprise et comment vous vous y intégrez (Qui commande vraiment ? Comment se prennent les décisions ? Qui est à l’écoute ou non ? Quel est le meilleur circuit pour atteindre vos objectifs ?)

- Quelles valeurs sont importantes et prônées par votre entreprise ? (esprit d’équipe, tolérance, initiative etc. C’est ce qu’on appelle la culture d’entreprise. C’est sur ces valeurs que vous serez évalué, jugé, intégré voire embauché.)

- Devez-vous faire part de vos analyses et remarques négatives sur l’entreprise ou les collègues ? Attention, ce n’est ni votre rôle ni votre compétence. Donnez votre avis uniquement si on vous le demande explicitement, pour ne pas poser de problème ou vexer qui que ce soit

- Comment devez-vous vous habiller ? (costume / cravate ? Casual ? Bleu de travail ? Y a-t-il un « casual Friday »)

- Devez-vous dire bonjour et au revoir à vos collègues tous les jours, et si oui comment ? (Salut crié dans la pièce, baiser, serrage de main ?)

- Certains mots sont-ils interdits ? Certains mots sont-ils des codes ? Y a-t-il des « rites », des non-dits, comme dans tout groupe ?

- Il serait bon que vous intégriez les concepts d’efficacité / rentabilité. Votre entreprise a de très fortes contraintes en termes financiers, en termes de productions, de rentabilité. Vous n’êtes pas habitués à tous ces concepts. Vous devez les intégrer immédiatement.

- Intégrer les règles de la compagnie en matière d’hygiène et sécurité. Il existe la plupart du temps des textes, souvent intégrés au règlement interne

- Quelle est la position du personnel et de la hiérarchie sur les aspects religieux, politiques… Quelles sont leurs habitudes et coutumes ? Ce sont des sujets délicats, voire tabous. Il faut veiller à ne pas choquer les gens.

- Votre service fait-il une pause-café le matin ? Etes-vous mal vu si vous n’y allez pas ? Combien de temps a-t-on pour manger le midi ?

 

Algérie Algérie
France France
Allemagne Allemagne
Liban Liban
Maroc Maroc
Espagne Espagne
Tunisie Tunisie


Haut de page