Cultural context : Lebanon

Must-sees and must-dos

Lebanon is known for its natural beauty and range of verdant mountains along a coast that shifts from sandy beaches to gravel to a rocky coastline. To name just a few sites, you could visit Pigeon Rock off the coast at Beirut and Jeita Grotto in Kesserwan.

There is a large number of historical buildings and monuments that date back to the Roman, Ottoman and Mameluke Empires. The museum in Badaro Region and the City of Beirut are great places to start your visit.

Culinary specialities are the best of what Lebanon has to offer. Let yourself be impressed by the sophistication of Lebanese cuisine. Beirut alone has thousands of restaurants. Its newly rebuilt city centre is home to a wide variety of restaurants serving international cuisines at reasonable prices. Start with Nimjeh Square across from Parliament.

Theatre: Going to the theatre can help you to familiarize yourself with Lebanese culture. Comedies are the most popular. Shows in English and French are rare but not non-existent. Some theatres offer one man shows that utilize various artistic forms of communication (similar to mime) rather than the spoken word (one example is actor Rafik Ali Ahmad).

Newspapers: A number of national and local dailies are published in French (like L’Orient Le Jour) and in English (like the Daily Star).

Radio broadcasts: Some FM radio stations offer programming in French (like Radio Mont Liban) and English (Radio One).

Sport: Football (soccer) is the most popular sport (Ansar and Nijmeh are the two best clubs and the ones with the most supporters). Basketball comes in second and is particularly widespread among university students and the upper class.

Lebanon Lebanon


Our partners

Back to Top

Contexte culturel au Liban

A voir ou à faire absolument

Le Liban est réputé pour sa beauté naturelle et sa chaîne de montagnes verdoyantes le long d’une côte qui passe des plages de sable, puis de gravier, à un littoral rocheux. Pour nommer quelques sites, vous pourriez visiter la « Roche », sur la côte à Beyrouth et les cavernes « Jeita » à Kesserwan.

Il y a un grand nombre de monuments et d’immeubles historiques à voir qui datent des ères romaine, ottomane et mamelouk. Le Musée dans la région de Badaro et la ville de Beyrouth sont deux bons sites où commencer vos visites.

Les spécialités culinaires sont ce que le Liban a de mieux à offrir. Vous serez impressionné par la sophistication de la cuisine libanaise. Beyrouth à elle seule compte des milliers de restaurants. Le centre-ville de Beyrouth, nouvellement reconstruit, comprend une grande variété de restaurants aux cuisines internationales à des prix acceptables. Commencez par le Carré « Nimjeh », en face du Parlement.

Théâtre : Aller au théâtre vous aidera à vous familiariser avec la culture libanaise. Les comédies sont les plus populaires. Des représentations en anglais et en français sont rares, mais il y en a parfois. Certains théâtres offrent des spectacles solos qui utilisent diverses formes artistiques de communication (semblables au mime) plutôt que le langage (par exemple « Rafik Ali Ahmad »).

Journaux : Plusieurs quotidiens et journaux locaux sont publiés en français, comme L’Orient Le Jour ou en anglais comme le Daily Star.

Radiodiffusion : Des stations de radiodiffusion FM émettent en français comme la « Radio Mont Liban » et en anglais comme « Radio One ».

Sports : Pour ce qui est des sports, le football (soccer) est le plus populaire (Ansar et Nijmeh sont les deux meilleurs clubs et attirent chacun le plus grand nombre de partisans). Le basket-ball vient au second rang et il est particulièrement répandu parmi les étudiants et la classe supérieure.

Liban Liban


Haut de page